Timor-Leste (East Timor) visa Information,Timor-Leste (East Timor) Embassy address

Timor-Leste (East Timor) Visa Information:

Timor-Leste (East Timor)

East Timor (officially the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste) is a country in Southeast Asia. It comprises the eastern half of the island of Timor, the nearby islands of Atauro and Jaco, and Oecussi-Ambeno, an exclave on the northwestern side of the island, within Indonesian West Timor. Timor Leaste flag The small country of 15,007 km² (5,376 mi²) is located about 640 km (400 mi) northwest of Darwin, Australia.
East Timor was colonised by Portugal since the 16th century, and was known as Portuguese Timor until Portugal’s decolonisation of the country. In late 1975 East Timor declared its independence but was promptly invaded and occupied by Indonesia, and declared that country’s 27th province the following year. In 1999, following the UN-sponsored act of self-determination, Indonesia relinquished control of the territory and East Timor became the first new sovereign state of the twenty-first century and of the third millennium on May 20, 2002.

Alongside the Philippines, East Timor is one of only two predominantly Roman Catholic countries in Asia.

At $800, the per capita GDP (Purchasing Power Parity adjusted) of East Timor is one of the lowest in the world. Its Human Development Index (HDI), however, corresponds to a medium degree of human development and places East Timor 142nd among the world’s nations.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *