Austria visa Information, Austria Embassy address

Austria Visa Information:


Like most European countries, Austria looks back on a very eventful history. Yet there are some elements of the Austrian character that haven’t changed much over the centuries: the partiality for indulgence, beauty, and cultivation have always been driving forces in the country’s past and present.

This section contains information about Austria Visa policies and requirements.

Do I Need a Visa?
  • Holders of an EEA (EU Member States, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) or Swiss passport do not require a visa. Nationals from EU-countries as well as Switzerland and Liechtenstein may remain for an unlimited time.

Holders of British Passports (European Union) do not need a visa for Austria. There are no restrictions on the remaining validity of your passport, providing you leave Austria before its expiry date.

  • All holders of Travel Documents and Certificates of Identity (CID) do require a visa!
  • You ONLY need a visa if you are a national of one of the following countries:
    Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua & Barbuda, Armenia, Azerbaijan

Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Botswana, Burkina-Faso, Burundi

Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Colombia, Comores, Congo (Republic), Congo (Democratic Republic), Cote d’Ivoire, Cuba

Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic

Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ehtiopia


Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana


India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ivory Coast

Jamaica, Jordan

Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea (Democratic People’s Republic, North), Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan

Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya

Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar

Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria


Pakistan, Palestine, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines


Russian Federation, Rwanda

Samoa, Sao Tome & Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia & Montenegro, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, St. Lucia, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Vincent & Grenadines

Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu

Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan

V, W Vanuatu, Vietnam

X, Y
Yemen, Yugoslavia

Zambia, Zimbabwe

Holders of the following British Passports will have to apply for a visa as well:

  • British Subject (without the right of abode in the UK)
  • British Dependent Territories
  • British Overseas Citizens
  • British Protected Persons

Please note: Visa applications can be made by post or in person. In order to apply for a visa in person you need an appointment, which can be arranged by telephone (020 7245 6689) or email (visa.london-ob@bmeia.gv.at ). No personal applications without appointment will be seen!

We would kindly ask you NOT to send any of your supporting documents (i.e. letter of invitation, travel insurance, …) prior to your application. Due to the high work load we are unable to deal with this matter and will therefore return all faxes or letters unseen. If you are invited by a private person or company in Austria please ask your invitee to send the letter of invitation directly to you.

For administrative reasons we would kindly ask you to book an appointment either by phone or email to avoid any double bookings. We always try to book an appointment for you, which suits you best. If you are unhappy with your appointment please do let us know and we will try to reschedule it provided other appointments are available.

Please note that we do monitor the bookings in our system and would have to cancel both of your appointments if we are not able to identify which one you will attend. Additionally, we liaise on a regular basis with other embassies and cross check the bookings system to identify people who book appointments with different embassies to circumvent the booking system.

What Is a Schengen Visa?

Schengen visas are issued by the following 15 countries:

Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, and Sweden.


Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Czech Republic, Hungary

The issue of such a visa is discretionary and depends on examination of each individual case, including purpose of visit and intention to return. If you intend to visit one of the Schengen countries for business, as a tourist or for a personal/private visit, you must first obtain a Schengen visa, which is valid in all Schengen countries. This normally enables you to visit any, several or all above mentioned countries and move freely in all of the Schengen countries during one trip within the validity of the visa. A Schengen visa is not appropriate if you wish to remain in a Schengen member state for longer than 3 months or take up employment or establish a business or trade or profession.

Where to apply for a Schengen visa:

If you are not resident in the UK you should normally apply to the Embassy or Consulate in your country of residence.

Please note: As of 20 January 2003 applications from non-UK residents (UK tourist/business or C visa) will no longer be accepted!

If you intend to visit only one Schengen country, apply to the Embassy or Consulate of that country.

If you intend to visit several of the Schengen countries, you must apply for a visa at the Embassy or Consulate of the country in which your main destination is situated (longest duration of stay).

If you intend to visit several of the Schengen countries without having a main destination, you should apply for the visa at the Embassy or Consulate of the first Schengen country on your travel itinerary that requires you to have a visa.
Normally you must apply in person to the Embassy or Consulate during the opening hours to lodge your application. Submission of visa-applications will be accepted by mail only if the place of residence is more than 50 miles from Central London.

Processing time: Your application should be lodged at the Embassy or Consulate at least several weeks before the proposed journey is undertaken.

Requirements for a Schengen visa may vary slightly between the different Schengen missions. Please note that only applications with all supporting documents will be accepted. In some cases further documents and guarantees may be required with your application.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *